The University of Western Macedonia was founded in Kozani in 2003, under the Presidential Decree No. 92 / 11-4-2003. The first members of the Interim University Administration / Body were appointed under the Ministerial Decision F. 120.61 / 132/61865 / B2 / 25.6.2003.

In 2015, after the first elections for a Rector, the University of Western Macedonia became a self-governing institution, and ran courses in 2 cities, Kozani and Florina, with 3 Schools and 6 Departments.

In 2019, the University of Western Macedonia was merged with the Technological Education Institute of Western Macedonia (Law 4610/2019, Government Gazette 70 / A / 07.05.2019). The TEI of Western Macedonia, ran courses in 5 Schools and 11 Departments in 5 cities in Western Macedonia. The central campus was located in Kozani.

The new University of Western Macedonia runs 7 Schools and 21 Departments in 5 cities (Kozani, Florina, Kastoria, Ptolemaida, and Grevena).

A new, state-of-the-art campus was constructed in the Active Urban Planning Zone (ZEP) of Kozani and started operating in September 2022.